I’ve noticed these past couple of days that my sternum is getting stronger.  The incision is still swollen, but I can definitely tell the difference when I move my upper body.  My trach hole is almost all scabbed over and has a teeny little opening.  Yesterday all my suture sites were itchy.  My body is healing, but I continue to be physically exhausted.

My good news for the day: recently I’ve noticed that my desire to go out and do things have increased.  When I first got home from the hospital all I wanted to do was sit at home and rest.  Now, have all these things I want to do, but I still need to physically work my way up to them.  I had labs this morning and afterward I wanted to go out and about the greater bay area.

The weather is beautiful and begs to be taken advantage of.  I would have loved to drive to Napa to drive through the vineyards and go the Banana Republic factory store for the sale they’re having, or go to Berkeley and have Yogurt Park and browse at the Ikea in Emeryville, or go down to Nine Rubies, the yarn store in San Mateo, to look at all the lovely yarn.  While I would like to do all of this in my head I know my body can’t yet handle such trips on the whim.  I can’t wait until my endurance catches up to the rest of me.

I haven’t gotten quite to the point where I’m bored.  I still enjoy being able to rest in my chair and always look forward to being at home after being out.  When I start complaining about being bored I’ll know I’m pretty much recovered and ready to go back to work.  I wonder how soon that will be.

