I looked online to see how much of my 2 million dollar life time maximum I’ve reached.  So far Anthem Blue Cross has paid out about $120,000 for services rendered through December 18th.  Yay!  I am nowhere near my lifetime max!

When I first got the 1.7 million dollar itemized statement from the hospital I had no idea how much of that the insurance would pay out.  Since UCSF is a participating provider, they used the contracted package rate for all the in-patient stuff and the contracted allowed amount for all the out-patient stuff.  I feel such a relief knowing that I won’t have to go through the headache of applying for Medicare for sometime.  As I was scrolling through the individual EOBs the difference between what was billed and what was actually paid by the insurance amazed me.  It’s so crazy how health insurance works in the US.

Today we went to the Vacaville Premium Outlets with Tina for my excursion/exercise.  I got 4 pairs of pants, 5 tops and a pajama set.  Between my post-Christmas trip to Banana Republic and today’s trip I finally have enough clothes to sustain me for two weeks without having to do laundry.  It’s so nice to be able to buy clothes that actually fit.  Thanks again, Fidel, for the Gap gift card!  I’m proud to say that I used it wisely today 😀 .  Tomorrow I’m going to go through my closet and take out all my ‘PH sized’ clothing and clothes I haven’t worn in over a year.  Salvation Army here I come!

