With everything that went on I figured an update was appropriate.  On Monday the 6th I went in for a bronchoscopy, and they found a lot of puss and junk/infection down there.  While I was in the holding/recovery room my oxygen saturation wouldn’t go past 90% on room air so I was admitted to the hospital.  Turns out that I had bacterial pneumonia and have aspergillious fungus infection in my lungs.

When they were treating the infection my shortness of breath wasn’t any better, and I was really weak so they decided to do a biopsy.  The biopsy showed no rejection in the culture, so they’re thinking I may have occult rejection.  I was put on an aggressive treatment of IV antibiotics, IV antifungals, and IV steroids while in the hospital and was discharged yesterday afternoon.

Now I’m on an oral antibiotic (more preventative as most of the bacterial pneumonia is gone), an oral and an inhaled antifungal and a high dose of oral steroids for rejection which will eventually taper back down to my normal amount in a couple of weeks.

I’m still extremely short of breath when I walk or exert myself in anyway – which is really frustrating!  – but otherwise better in spirit since I’m finally at home.  I’m hoping in a week or so the short of breath will be better and I’ll be on the road to a full recovery.  I’ve been sent home with oxygen in the meanwhile to keep me going.  I’m hoping to recover and go back to work by the end of the month.

Thanks everyone for all your support and best wishes!  I appreciate it more than you’ll ever know.

