Today Carol, Fidel, my mom and I went down to the Monterey Bay Aquarium to see the Secret Life of Seahorses exhibit.  Carol and I are members, but due to my illness we barely had a chance to go.  So before our membership expires for the year we decided to make the 2 hour trip down the peninsula.

The seahorses were fascinating, fanciful and disgusting all at the same time.  They’re such weird creatures.  At the aquarium I was so engaged with the exhibit, but when I got home and looked at the photos they gave me the heebeejeebees.

The only name I remember is the leafy sea dragon – which is a seahorse that looks like, well, a leaf.  There were all sorts of seahorses and sea dragons… from teeny tiny baby seahorses you had to look through a magnifying glass to see to much bigger ones that camouflaged themselves to their environment.

The leafy sea dragon.  Can you pick out the sea dragon in the exhibit?  Here’s a hint – the face of the sea dragon is facing south.

I spy three seahorses…

When someone says ‘seahorse’ this is the type of image that comes to mind.

My souvenir – a seahorse lollipop.

