Here are some knitting projects I’ve recently finished that I’ve been meaning to post.

Better Bucket by Amy Swenson using Malabrigo Twist in Green-Gray

I made this hat for myself with the yarn that Beth gifted me for Christmas. The fun part of this hat is that the bottom half of the hat is double knit so it gives it a nice sturdy brim, and it’s very warm. Next time if I make this I think it’ll be fun to make the under brim a different color.

Doubleknitski by Allison Hansel using Malabrigo Sock in Chocolate Armago & Tiziano Red

I knit this hat for my dad for when he goes hiking in the mountains. He asked for a warm hat, so I found a double knit pattern. It’s brown on one side and red on the other so he can wear it on whichever side he wants. I altered the pattern to make it a k9, p2 rib and didn’t knit the stripes. I double stranded sock yarn instead of using worsted and adjusted for gauge.

Brainless by Yarnissima using Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock MW in Christmas Balls

I made these socks for myself.  I knit them on and off for about a month.  The pattern is actually called brainless, but it was a brainless knit for me not because it’s so easy (which it was), but because it seems I had no brains while knitting them! I kept making simple errors that had nothing to do with the pattern and everything to do with me being absent minded.

Cunning Jayne Hat by Renee Peterson using Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky in Orange You Glad & Wild Mustard, and Mirasol Yarn Sulka in Paprika.

My cousin asked me to make him a hat from a television show called Firefly.  I had never heard of the show before, so I looked it up.  Even though the show was cancelled, it has quite the following. When I looked it up to see if I could rent it from Netflix, I found out that they also have it as an instant play option so you can watch it from your computer.  I haven’t seen it yet, but I’m intrigued if my cousin is willing to wear an orange and yellow hat.  Apparently the main character’s mom knit him this hat, and the quote from the show goes like this…. “man walks down the street in that hat, people know he’s not afraid of anything.”

Phiaro Scarf by Katie Himmelberg using Wollemeise Sockenwolle 80/20 Twin in Petite Poison Dark

The other day my mother was sorting through all my yarn trying to consolidate everything into bins and keep them contained in one section of the living room. Out of all the skeins of yarn that I own, she instantly loved this one. Of course it would be the German yarn that’s not easy to come by. Since she loved the color so much I decided to make her something with it. I looked on Ravelry and found this pattern. Instead of making it into a shawl, I shortened the width to 7.5″ for a scarf.

My current work in progress (wip): #02 Reversible Cabled-Rib Shawl by Lily Chin using Malabrigo Lace in Damask Rose.

I have 2 active projects on needles right now, the Chevron Scarf that I started way back when and this scarf. I know I should have finished the Chevron Scarf before starting other projects, but I can’t seem to get myself to continuously work on it. I keep getting wooed by other projects (umm… like all the ones on this page!). I guess since the Chevron Scarf is for me I really don’t feel any urgent need to get it done. It doesn’t help that the pattern is quite monotonous. This new work in progress is a more engaging pattern and the yarn is just lovely.

