Fair warning: This post is all about knitting and may be boring for my non-knitting readers.

I love to knit. Most people’s response to this statement would probably be, ‘duh!’ But I’ve realized that I love the act of knitting. I love the process of seeing the fiber go from a ball of yarn to a knit garment. I love the way the product reveals itself a little bit at a time as I go along. I love the way yarn feels in my hands as I manipulate it.

But once I’m done knitting the product, my interest wanes. I don’t have a particular love for that one object any more than others.  I don’t have that urge to wear/use it all the time. Most people like to wear what they made right away and show off all their hard work (as they should).  But, for me, it just ends up tossed in among all the rest of my stuff.  Now, this is not to say that I’m not proud of my knitting, or that I value it any less. I just find that I’m more interested in the next project – the next ball of yarn I’ll be using and the joy of casting on something new.

Perhaps this is one reason why I end up gifting most of what I make.  In fact, I have never once regretted gifting something I’ve knit, and I usually don’t mind when people ask me to make them something. I have, however, regretted gifting someone a particular skein of yarn from my stash. Isn’t that weird? I actually had to go online and buy another one for myself to replace the one I gifted!

I think this is also another reason why I don’t really mind unraveling a project if I make a mistake or if I don’t like the way it’s turning out. Redoing it just gives me a chance to do it correctly. Sounds perfectionistic, but I think unraveling it isn’t as frustrating to me – whether it’s the first time or the third time I’ve knit that particular section.

And, come to think of it, this is probably why I usually have multiple projects on needles at once.  Each project brings a different knitting experience depending on the weight of the yarn, the type of needle, and the pattern.  I pick up whichever one I feel like doing at that moment and alternate between them as it suits my mood.

I had this discussion with Carol the other day, and she told me that the satisfaction of the end product fuels her.  She loves to be able to see her creation and admire all the hard work she’s put into it. I, on the other hand, am fueled by the yarn itself and the soothing and relaxing act of knitting.

I think most knitters would consider themselves having a little bit of both tendencies. They enjoy the knitting, but they also enjoy the end product. The degree in which a knitter enjoys each aspect, of course, varies from person to person, but  if you had to choose one way or the other, which way do you most identify with?

