Reflecting back on everything that I’ve been through from the cardiac arrest until now, I think nausea is probably the hardest thing I’ve had to deal with. Hunched over with a large plastic cup in my hand trying very hard not to throw up is by far the worst feeling in the world. On par with this feeling is the churning, dizzy and exhausted feeling after throwing up – or usually in my case, dry heaving and gasping for breath.

I think nearly every drug out there has nausea as a side effect – in fact I think every drug commercial I’ve seen on tv has it listed in that very quick spiel at the end. Of all the drugs I’ve taken, Septra is one of the worst. It prevents me from getting a bacterial infection in my lungs and treats a certain type of pneumonia, but it gives me severe nausea. Unfortunately, unlike most people, I have to take this drug for the rest of my life.

When trying to abate the nausea, ginger is often used but only works when the nausea is light. I also have a bottle of Zofran that’s supposed to help with the nausea. Sometimes it works, but usually it just lessens it rather than get rid of it. I suppose something is better than nothing.

It seems like nearly everything and anything causes nausea. According to WebMD causes of nausea include: surgery, emotional stress such as fear, drugs, pregnancy, intense pain, motion sickness, infection, certain smells, overeating, medication, food poisoning, ulcers, heart attack, some forms of cancer, brain tumor, concussion, infection, bulimia and other psychological illnesses.

Why does the body turn to nausea so often as a defense mechanism? I wish there was a way to tell the body when it doesn’t need to trigger the primal need to empty the stomach from whatever poison it thinks you’ve put in there.

