Sock Innovation: Knitting Techniques & Patterns for One-of-a-Kind Socks by Cookie A

I really like Cookie A’s sock patterns, so I decided to buy her book and give it a whirl.  I love it.  It not only has great patterns, but it also has tips on how to go about creating your own patterns and a pretty comprehensive glossary/techniques section.  The biggest complaints that I read online were: 1. Though it does give suggestions on how to modify the size, it really only provides patterns to knit socks for feet that are 8″ in circumference.  2. There are a ton of erratas in the book.  Well, I must say I lucked out because 1. I pretty much have an 8″ circumference foot and 2. I bought the book way later than the first printing so all the erratas were ‘fixed’ in my copy.

Nathalie, an online knitting friend, and I decided to knit a pattern together.  We just finished knitting Kai-Mei.  The pattern was fun, creative, and intuitive.  I gifted my pair to mom.  I used Wollmeise Twin 80/20 in colorway Petersilie using  2.0mm dpns.

I’ve made it a goal to knit all the socks in the book over the course of a year.  Since I happened to start with the last pattern in the book, I’m going to work my way from back to front.  Next on the agenda is Kristi.  I’ll probably cast on in a couple of weeks once I’ve caught up with some of my other works in progress.

I’ve also got my heddle loom on my mind.  It came in the mail, but I haven’t had a chance to set it up yet.  Carol is excited as she’s already requested that I weave her a set of cushion covers (!).  I’ll probably set it up when she drives up next week.

