This July 4th weekend we neither bbq’d nor participated in fireworks, but we did go out and explore. On Saturday Elizabeth, Carol, and I went to the Fillmore Street Jazz Festival. We had fun walking around looking at various vendors, listening to music and overall just enjoyed being outdoors on a beautiful day. We ran into Jami who was on her way to meet Maria, and we saw Mary Rose, Ron and Ellis (she’s so grown up!). We heard later that Maggie was there but we missed her. Seems everyone was out enjoying the day. I also found a fun birthday present for Cindy (Happy Belated!). Sadly I bought the wrong size so Carol and Elizabeth went back to exchange it – but I did get some funnel cake out of the error. I didn’t take my camera with me so I don’t have pictures. I did take some with my cellphone, but nothing really too interesting. I did get a picture of this woman who full on took off her shirt in the booth to try on clothes – people have no shame – but, I figured no one should be subjected to such a sight.

On Monday Jami, Carol and I went on a field trip to Fairfield. We started off at the Jelly Belly Factory.

Jelly Belly Art

The Jelly Belly tour was great. Our tour guide Ashley did a fabulous job and we got a free package of jelly bellies at the end. But, I was so disappointed to find out that they discontinued my favorite flavor – peanut butter. When Carol asked, they said it was because of allergy concerns. BOO! No offense to you all who are allergic to nuts, but geez, why does that have to ruin it for the rest of the population? Yeah, yeah I know – most people with allergies can’t even have food that was processed in the same plant as products made with nuts, and this change probably has significant monetary gain for Jelly Belly, but it still made me sad.

After the factory tour and candy shopping, we went to Target to pick up some necessities and rounded out our trip by going to the mall. The mall there is huge!  We had our eyebrows threaded, ate at Chick-Fil-A, and I had a Blizzard from Dairy Queen (couldn’t resist) before returning back home.  It was hot in Fairfield, and it felt great driving into the San Francisco fog.

On that note, I am sending an open invitation to all my family and friends suffering in the east cost heat wave.  The news last night said it was 103 degrees in Central Park!!! It’s 65 degrees and foggy here in San Francisco. I think it’s supposed to be sunny and 70 this weekend. Come and cool off, I’d love to see you.

