1. Yarn wrapped around the warping peg.  Do you see how skewed the yarn looks?  Not good.  Of course I did not pay attention to this.  Error due to not clamping down the loom while wrapping.

2. Result of bad wrapping – uneven ends.

3. Yarn: Earthly Hues Saplings in color dandelion fields.  The yarn bled all over the freaking place.  Stained the heddle, the tie bars, the shuttle, a little bit of the warp and cloth beams and of course my hands.  Hopefully the excess dye washes out.

In an attempt to clean my loom I emailed Glimakra for advice and they suggested I use Murphy Oil and very, very, fine sandpaper if necessary.  Murphy Oil helped a little bit.  It cleaned up the beams nicely but everything else was still stained.  I used the sandpaper on the shuttle and tie bars, but they are beyond help.

4. Cutting the yarn and evening out the ends.

5. Start of the scarf.  I used a 10 heddle so I should have been getting 10 rows per inch.  Well, as you can see in the photo it was too loose.  Even tension will take some time to master.

6. Finished scarf.  Measures 6″ x 49″ not including fringe.

7. I didn’t think the scarf would be long enough to wrap around once but was pleasantly surprised.  Still need to wash and cut off the fringe.

As I was struggling to figure out how to warp the loom by following written directions, I realized I haven’t learned something new since undergrad.  I need to exercise my brain more often.  With that said, the directions included with the loom were great.  I also purchased 2 weaving books.  Hands On Rigid Heddle Weaving by Betty Davenport and Ashford Book of Rigid Heddle Weaving by Rowena Hart.  Both excellent resources for a beginning weaver. I really want to start a new project, but I’m forcing myself to finish a couple of knitting projects first.

