Anyone who knows me at all knows that I am not a die hard sports fan.  I’m definitely a ‘I’m going to the ball game to enjoy the atmosphere, the overpriced food and company of friends’ kinda person.  In fact, the last time I was at AT&T Park I was knitting my green throw and the Giants won, but I couldn’t tell you who they were playing.  If the ballpark wasn’t in my backyard and a regular part of living in SF, it probably wouldn’t cross my mind to go.

When I found out who the contenders for the world series were, I wanted the Giants to play the Yankees purely because it would have been fun to see my two favorite cities play.  Alas, it was not meant to be.  As you can imagine, there is major Giants fever going on all around me.  Tonight’s the first of the series, and it’s a home game.

When I read this post about The Barry Bonds Dilemma by Jon Brooks I thought I’d throw in my 2¢.  I have a lot of friends who are die hard Giants fans.  My friend Jen is a season ticket holder, and she invited me to go with her when her then-boyfriend (now husband) couldn’t go.  It ended up being the game where Barry Bonds hit his 757th home run and broke Hank Aaron’s record.  Talk about being swept up with the crowd.  I was never a huge Barry Bond’s fan, but that day I was just as excited as everyone else in the stands.

When Bonds was indicted a few months later I had very little compassion for him as a drug abuser with a reputation for having a horrible personality.  I thought it was a shame that he was affiliated with the Giants. I hate to admit it, but I’m glad Bonds is no longer on the team and that they made it to the World Series without him.

I am rooting for the newly made over home team.  Let’s go Giants!

Half the joy of going to the Giants game is being able to enjoy the fabulous-ness that is ATT Park.  I ♥ SF.

