Black Tie, Optional (Ravelry link) by Adrienne Fong using Wollmeise 100% Merino in color Natur, 2.5mm dpns.

These are my September Mystery KAL from the Sock Knitters Anonymous group on Ravelry.  Yes folks you heard that correctly – September.  Usually when I knit mystery socks I knit each section as they’re presented weekly for both the left and right sock so that by the end month the pair is done.

I started these after two of the pattern sections had been revealed and made the mistake of knitting one sock at a time.  By the time I got half way done with the second sock, I got tired of knitting it and abandoned it for a while.  I finally picked it back up and made a careless mistake.  I didn’t count the stitches before I began the foot.  I had decreased too much and didn’t know it.  I noticed the error when I started the toe.  I ripped it out and re-knit 55 rows of the lace pattern with beads.  I am finally done.

I still have a sock on needles (the September pattern from Indie Sock CSK).  One sock is done and about an inch of the second one.  My goal is to get this one finished soon so that I can teach myself how to knit two at once using the magic loop method.

After that, I want to finish the Malabrigo scarf that I have on needles.  The scarf uses lace weight, I’m alternating between two skeins at once because they’re from different dye lots, I need to cable using a cable needle because each cable is 24 stitches so it’s a pain to use my usual cable-without-a-cable-needle method, and I originally had no one in mind when I started it.  All those factors combined equaled very slow progress.  Now that I have someone in mind for the scarf I’d really like to get through it and start a non-sock project for myself.

