After much neglect, I have finally finished the August socks from Indie Socks CSK. Pattern: Tulip Socks (Ravelry Link) by Chrissy Gardiner.  Yarn: Bugga! from The Sanguine Gryphon in colorway Sharpshooter Leafhooper.  Needles: 2.25mm dpns.

After I finished taking a picture of them, my mother tried them on and said the length of the sock leg was perfect on her.  Guess who owns these socks now?

I am a die-hard double pointed needle (dpn) user for small circumference items like socks.  I have found the 2 circs at once incredibly fiddly and very slow moving and never bothered to learn the magic loop method.  I have very little patience for all that moving and repositioning of this and that.  My hands are very accustomed to dpns so knitting with them goes very quickly for me.  I’m sure 2 circs/magic loop users will argue exactly the opposite.

Despite my love of dpns, I have decided to try the magic loop method simply for the convenience of doing 2 at once.  I have knit 2 socks at once on dpns, one sock inside another.  Remember these?

This method is great for patterns that are stockinette or ribbed, but it’s not great for patterns with cables or methods where crossing of the stitches are required.  Here is where magic loop comes in.  I am willing to try it if it’ll make knitting socks more convenient.  I am going to cast on tonight.  Wish me luck!

