Pattern: Paraphernalia by Taina Anttila.  Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Lightweight in Nyame.  Needle: 2.5mm fixed 40″ circular.

This was my first time doing Magic Loop.  I decided to give it a try because the idea of getting both socks done at the same time using any pattern was very appealing.

When you cast on for Magic Loop you divide the total number of stitches in half so that half are on one side of the cable and the other half is on the other side.  This is the general set up, so I just proceeded this way without reading the pattern all the way through.

Turns out I didn’t have enough stitches on one side to do the cabling.  Unlike dpns I couldn’t just move the stitches I needed, so I transferred them to dpns, rearranged the stitches, and moved them back to the long circular.

I’m knitting and finishing up the legs when I realize that the right sock is supposed to be a mirror image of the left sock!  The cables on the right sock should be on the opposite side of the left sock.  Clearly I had not learn my lesson in the beginning.

I transferred the socks onto dpns again, rearranged the stitches, and moved them back to the long circular.  I was very grateful that at least the pattern was the same so I didn’t have to undo all my knitting.

I was able to turn the heel and pick up the stitches for the gusset without much fuss.  Proud of my progress I proceeded to move onto the foot and started the toes.  I’m knitting along when I realize that I will most likely run out of yarn.  This is how much yarn I had left when I was almost done with the toes.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I was able to get extra yarn from a lady on Ravelry.  With the yarn in hand I joined in and finished the toes.  I’m getting ready to bind off when I realize I am four stitches short on one of the socks.  I had decreased one row too many after the gusset.  Of course I did.  Here is a picture of my sock after I ripped back to where I was decreasing before the foot.

Despite all the ‘complications’ I had with these, I have decided that I like doing two at once using magic loop.  It’s so satisfying knowing I don’t have a second sock to start.  I can’t believe I’m about to type this, but I may never use dpns to make socks again!

When I first looked into this method there seemed to be plenty of directions on how to do this for toe-up socks but not for top-down ones.  Here are a couple of websites that were helpful.

