Tags

, , , ,

I can not believe it is already the month of September in the year 2011.  Time has a funny way of dragging and flying simultaneously.  All is quiet on the health front – which is good news.  The most exciting thing has been the change to my lab schedule.  I am now allowed to go to labs once a month!  AND on a Tuesday!  No more Monday morning madness.

In a couple of weeks it will be 3 years since my double lung and heart transplant.  Out of curiosity, I looked up  data on heart/lung transplants in 2008.  Here’s the data I found on the Organ Procurment and Transplantion Network (OPTN) website:

21 Adult Heart/Lung Transplants in the US in 2008

Male

Female

Arizona:  U of Arizona 1 0
California:  UC San Francisco,  Stanford 4 3
Florida:  Jackson Memorial 0 1
Maryland:  Johns Hopkins 1 2
Minnesota: St. Marys (Mayo Clinic) 0 1
Pennsylvania: U of Pittsburg,  Temple U,  U of Pennsylvania 3 3
Texas:  Methodist Hospital 0 1
Wisconsin:  U of Wisconsin 0 1
Of the 21 adult recipients:

  • 8 in my age range – 5 Male, 3 Female
  • 2 at UCSF – me & Ian

5 had Primary Pulmonary Hypertension

  • 1 Male, 4 Female
  • 3 White, 1 Asian, 1 Multi-ethnic

 

I also found recipient survival rates on OPTN’s website.  60% is the survival rate of  heart/lung transplant patients at the 3 year mark.  I’m happy to be on the positive side of that statistic!

On an entirely different note, the weather here has been wonderful.  Sunny and bright in the mornings in the late 60s/early 70s with the fog rolling in by mid afternoon.  Mother took advantage of the weather this morning and went to hike the Coastal Trail by Sutro Heights Park that’s just a couple of miles from my house.  Here are some pictures she took:


On the knitting front, I’m done with my cardigan – just waiting for the buttons to come in the mail.  Here’s a sneak peek:


Bohus Cardigan by Chrissy Gardiner

The button is from Buttons by Robin on Etsy.

Right now I’m attempting to get moving on the shawl I started for myself months and months ago but got distracted by other fun projects.  I vowed to knit only that project during knitting group or when people are over knitting with me so I can force myself to work on it more often.  In addition to the knitting group that meets monthly, I’ve started a daytime group.  We meet weekly on Wednesday mornings.

On a side note, I recently test knit a couple of slouchy type hats – if anyone wants one let me know.  I can email you the picture.  It’s knit with the same yarn I used for my cardigan.  It’ll fit an adult with a smaller sized head or a teenager.

The big news on the knitting front is that I’ve finally caved and bought yarn.  In my defense, it’s yarn I needed for a specific project and didn’t have any in my stash that I could have used to make it… and it’s not sock yarn, which is what I have the most.  Plus, it’s for a gift.  I can’t wait for it to come in the mail and get started.  Lately I’ve really been into knitting kid’s clothing.  They’re so satisfying because they don’t require a ton of yarn, they’re cute, and knit up pretty quickly.  I have friends who are pregnant right now and a couple who have kiddos under the age of 3 with birthdays coming up soon.  I foresee lots of kid knitting in my future.

Just for fun, here’s a quiz that will tell you which Harry Potter character has the same personality type as you.  It’s loosely based on the Myers-Briggs.  I ended up with INTJ which is Severus Snape.  What’s interesting is that before I got sick, I always came up as INFJ whenever I did Myers-Briggs type testing. I’ve done a few since transplant and I’ve been coming up as INTJ. Here is one of many sites that attempts to explain the difference between the two. Of course being the geek that I am, I find this change fascinating.  Anyone have any theories as to why this may be the case?

