Tags

, , , , , ,

Last weekend my mom and I met Janet and Jeff at the Santa Clara Convention Center for the annual Stitches West conference.  At one of the tables they had products promoting heart health.  The lady told me that different companies designated and/or designed yarn/notions in the color red to support Stitch Red, Sticking it to Heart Disease.

Janet and I each bought a little kit that included 50 grams of Classic Elite Yarns Alpaca Sox yarn, a tiny bit of white yarn, a pin backing, and the Mini Dress Pattern by Loretta Dachman, a knit version of The Heart Truth® logo. Instead of using the backing, I opted to make a little hanger for the dress.  I shaped a paper clip using pliers and wrapped double-stick tape for the padding to help keep the dress from sliding off.  Right now it’s hanging from my bedside lamp, but I think it will eventually turn into a Christmas ornament.

.

.

It was fun going on an excursion and being wheeled around a very large room filled with yarn goods.  I bought yarn from dyers/companies I hadn’t come across before and even managed to stay under budget.  Afterward we had burgers at the In-N-Out nearby; It’s starting to become a tradition.

.

