Tags

, , ,

To quote my cousin, Ed – “Happy Anniversary, Lefty.” This time three years ago I was on the operating table at UC getting my left lung replaced.

It amazes me when I think back to the days I spent at the hospital getting ready for a re-transplant.  I will never forget the feeding tube adjustments (to put it kindly) and the level my body deteriorated.

I think a large part of getting through it all was just pure ignorance.  I’m here to tell you that a re-transplant is way more traumatic and taxing than the original.  Now that I know what will happen and how difficult it is, I have no doubt that I will never transplant again.

All in all I’ve had a great run so far. To celebrate this auspicious event I’ve decided to list things I’m thankful for instead of the typical my-life-sucks poohpoohing.

  1. Receiving a lung allocation score of 92.9 out of 100 and transplanting 4 days after listing.
  2. Having made it to year three. Despite all complications, I am still here kicking and screaming.
  3. Being healthy enough to attend my sister’s wedding.
  4. Living two miles from a hospital that happens to have a fantabulous transplant center.
  5. Having the greatest friends and family members who support me unconditionally.

I’m thinking about writing to my donor family.  For some reason, I never felt compelled to contacted them. I guess since I’ve communicated with my original donor family, I didn’t feel the need as much.  All I know is that my lung came from somewhere in southern California.

In the knitting department, I’m working on a pair of socks, a birthday pullover, and I’m finishing up a crochet project.  I want to pull out the afghan I started waaaaaaay long ago and gift it to Fidel’s parents once I get it done.  I really need to not start any more new projects.  I can already hear the resounding ‘Uh-huh, sure’ in my ear.

