Tags

, ,

 

 

 

As an immunosuppressed person I’m to be careful about the water I drink.

In San Francisco, our water comes from snowmelt in the Hetch Hetchy Reservoir in Yosemite National Park.  An article written last year in SF Weekly, stated that our tap water is treated with chloramine and radiated with ultraviolet light, but it’s not filtered.

“Spreck Rosekrans, an environmentalist and water expert, reports that during San Francisco’s process certain microorganisms, such as the protozoans that cause giardia and cryptosporidiosis, are not entirely killed off. The water is perfectly healthy for most of us, but not necessarily for those with HIV, AIDS, or weakened immune systems.”

I’m already encouraged to drink [filtered] bottled water, but this cinched it.  I stopped drinking water straight from the tap and started buying water.  The downside to this, besides the obvious bad-for-the-environment bit, is my mother having to haul packs of water bottles up 4 flights of stairs.

I recently discovered that there are water bottles that have a filter in them.  After looking up information and reading all sorts of reviews, I found there were 2 major factors involved – leaks, and mold in the sippy straw thingy you drink from.  The bottle I found seems to address both issues.

I bought the Aqua Vessel Insulated Filter Water Bottle by Eco Vessel.  It has a 100 gallon filter.  It’s made with stainless steel, it’s easy to clean the sippy straw thingy, and so far – knock on wood – it hasn’t leaked.  I’m not going to wax poetic, but I will say that I would do a commercial for them in a heartbeat.

Quick health update – my transplant team called and the nasal swab and sputum culture both came out negative (disregarding the stenotrophomonas) so I won’t have to go in for a bronchoscopy.  My doctor wants a follow-up in a month with a high-resolution chest ct and most likely a spirometry. Yay!

 

