Please excuse my blogging laziness, it’s been nearly a month since I’ve written a post.  Here are some things that have been on my mind.

1.

I ate this fabulous nectarine and took a picture of it as a tribute to the end of summer. According to my calendar, September is coming to an end.  In a few more days it’ll officially be fall.  FALL!

I really miss the east coast during the fall.  The smell of burning firewood, the cold brisk winds, the colorful fallen leaves, the anticipation of Halloween and the start of the holidays.  …Memories light the corners of my mind, misty watercolor memories… I never did see The Way We Were; I digress.

2.

Health Updates.

On the lung front – my last CT had a small amount of what’s called ground glass opacities on the upper part of my left lung near the middle.  It’s a non-specific diagnosis – which pretty much means it can be anything.

Just before I came in for the CT, I had the rhino virus, a.k.a the common cold, and I was put on a round of antibiotics to back up my non immune system self.  It may be the remnants of that and will go away with time.

Another more probable possibility is that the anti-rejection drug that I switched to after I had my stents put in may be causing the problem.  It has a known side effect of lung disease (of course it does) so lung transplant patients are typically not put on this anti rejection drug.  However, it’s apparently more effective than the one I used to take, and it’s known to help heart transplant patients.  Go figure.

My doctor had me do a spiro and said if the results are okay, they’ll rescan it in a month or so to see how it looks.  It’s in a place that is hard to get to in a bronch and it’s not worth messing around in there with the little lung capacity that I have.

The spiro results came back stable so I won’t be going in for a bronch in the immediate future.   If the follow up CT doesn’t show any change or has gotten worse, the next step would be to take me off that anti rejection drug and see if that helps.

On the heart front – I’m scheduled to have a heart cath on October 9th to check on my stents and see how my heart is pumping along.  Hopefully I’ll get the all clear, and it’ll just be an outpatient procedure.

My mantra in all things that cause me anxiety: Expect the worst, hope for the best.

3.

Cindy once told me that my sister and I are often walking advertisements for products we love to use. Well, I’m here to tell you that Gold Bond Ultimate Healing is the best lotion in the whole wide world.  It doesn’t smell gross, it’s not sticky, nor is it greasy, and it really works. Plus, you can buy it at Costco.  What’s not to love?

Recently I learned that Gold Bond Ultimate has a hand sanitizer!  This news is like discovering gold to an immunosuppressed person.  I hate using the clear gels like Purell because it’s so drying and harsh on my Prednisone skin, and I don’t like the scented ones from Bath and Body Works; While they are softer on the hands, they often stink to high heaven.  GBU hand sanitizer to the rescue!

Not so subtle hint: Get a small bottle and stick it in your bag/backpack/briefcase and use it when you’re out and about in public touching mass transit, or money or anything else grody, but especially when you’re coming to visit me.
😀

4.

My mother and I have been reading aloud to each other in order to practice my Korean and her English.

My aunt bought me two Korean story books so that I can practice my Korean.  One is a book of folktales and the other is fairy tales. I looked through my bookshelf and chose Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume for my mother.  I love that book.  It’s been fun listening to it.

Mother is in the middle of chapter four and I’m about to start the 5th story in my folktales book.

5.

My sister and I are going to see The Lion King musical when she comes up for Thanksgiving.  She’s seen it a bunch of times, but I’ve never seen it and have always wanted to go.  The best part is that it’s only $40 a piece for Accessible seats!  At this rate, I should make it a point to go see more performances at the Orpheum.

……….

I will leave you with a quote that Project (Red) posted on FB.

 

