Happy belated Thanksgiving!  I hope everyone had a great day enjoying food, family, and friends.

I am thankful to have made it this far with my new organs.  I am thankful for my friends and family.  I am thankful I live in San Francisco.  I am thankful I still have have an appetite (mostly) and that food still tastes normal. I am thankful for candy, without which I would have constant medicine mouth.  I am thankful for yarn.  I am thankful for audiobooks which allow me to knit and ‘read’ at the same time.

Every year I celebrate Thanksgiving with my sister and brother in law.  We invite people over for a Yoo-sorta-Thanksgiving.  Instead of turkey, we have a Costco rotisserie chicken accompanied by  traditional sides: Stove Top stuffing, mashed potatoes w/gravy, corn muffins, Elizabeth’s root vegetables, and pumpkin pie.  (Jami, we miss your candied sweet potatoes!)

This year my birthday fell on Thanksgiving so we combined them and our monthly knitting group… well, sort of as not a lot of knitting occurred.  Mitchell’s ice cream cake was had and Scattagories was played.  I couldn’t have ask for a better way to celebrate.

My sister and brother in law were here for a week.  I have discovered that evenings are the best time for me to go out, because mornings are very difficult for me.  I am physically the best after 2pm or so.  While they were here, we went out to dinner twice.  We even went to brunch once because I was having an unusually good morning.  It also helps that Fidel can lift the wheelchair in and out of the trunk like it weighs nothing.

Carol and I saw the Lion King.  It was wonderful.  The costumes were amazing and the music was great.  The Orpheum is a smaller sized theater built in the 1920s so most seats have a pretty good view, but we sat in the disability access seats which were in the front part of the orchestra so it was even better.  I did miss being able to peer down into the orchestra pit, but hey, who’s to complain?

Knitting is in full swing.  I have Christmas presents (and a few birthday presents) that I’d like to get through.  I’m currently knitting a hat and in the middle of the afghan I’m making for my sister’s in-laws.

I think it’s officially time to start playing Christmas music in the house.

