A side effect of gifting handmade socks is the request to fix the inevitable holes that crop up.  This was my second time tackling a hole.  A little over two years ago I replaced the heel of a sock that I gave to mom on Mother’s Day. That fix was way easier than it looked, because it was contained in the heel, and it was knit with a separate color from the start.

This time around, it’s a true hole.

hole
.
Thankfully, I still had some yarn leftover.  After some fiddling and looking up the different ways people have done this, I decided that grafting it using the kitchener stitch was going to be my best option.
.
I started by picking up the stitches, making sure I had an equal number of stitches on both needles.
.
set up.
I had two strands that tore in between the needles, so I knit the stitches on the bottom needle to make up for one of the rows.  The other row was automatically created by the actual grafting.
.
graft
.
Once the row was done, I grafted the two sides together using the kitchener’s stitch.
.
Ta-dah!  All done.  It’s not the best, but for the bottom of the foot, it will suit.
.
patched
.
Here’s a picture of what it looks like on the inside.  I hope that it won’t be annoying to step on while wearing it.
.
inside

