Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been thinking about moving things around in my bedroom.  After some thought I decided to sell the stationary to make more room.  I listed it on Craigslist, and it was mercifully sold within a couple of days.

I hate the hassle of listing things on Craigslist.  People are often flaky and so many have no manners.  One thing I’ve learned is not to give out my email address.  It’s much easier to send an email when you’re not that serious and then ignore further communication.  For some reason, it’s more of a commitment if you call and actually talk to someone.  Most don’t bother picking up the phone if they’re really not going to follow through.

In any case, a nice guy (as mother deemed) called and picked it up the next day.  She helped him take it down the stairs and got some exercise out of it.  Elizabeth and Jim came over and re-arranged the furniture in my bedroom.  This is what I see from where I sit. The panoramic function is great;  Have I mentioned that I love my phone?

room perspective

See that large bin of snacks?  I’m not sure if you can tell from the photo, but it’s full of half eaten bags of chips and the like.  It’s sitting there with the rational being out of sight, out of mind.  It takes me forever to get through a bag in the first place.  If I never saw it, it would never get eaten.   All I can say for the ever full snack bin is that variety is the spice of life. Come help me eat it.

Let’s talk about the dentist.  I used to have stellar dental coverage. Unfortunately the benefits I have now stink.  It’s definitely better than not having any, but that doesn’t give me much comfort when I’m shelling out hundreds of dollars to have my teeth fixed.

I’ve had a crown put in and three cavities filled.  I have a root canal scheduled in June, and then I still need to have an existing crown replaced and eventually, a deep cleaning.  It’s entirely my fault as I’ve been neglecting my teeth.  My only defense is that for the past 5 years, my teeth have been the last thing on my mind.  When you look at it like that, my going to the dentist means I’m doing very well.  Ha!

Apparently my mother has an extreme fear of the dentist.  When I’m getting my procedure done she has to wait outside because it stresses her out just listening to the noises coming from the rooms.  I asked her if she had some sort of traumatic experience or something that could explain her fear, but she can’t think of any.

Normally I wouldn’t really be concerned about someone else’s phobia, but in this case, it’s spilling over onto me.  Personally I never looked forward to going to the dentist, and I was apprehensive as a kid, but I’ve never been afraid. My mother’s fear practically drips from her, and I feel like I need an umbrella to shield myself from the stress.  Another stressor in my life is the last thing I need.

Through all this I have come to realize that the dentist is actually the only medical procedure that yields positive results and often, instant gratification.  After a cleaning, cavity filling, or even a root canal, my teeth are fixed, and I’m not in any pain.

When I have to get a CT or an echo, I don’t get a prognosis until I see a doctor at clinic.  AND when I am told the results, it often results in something I don’t want to hear.  I’m not sent home with a pat on the head with everything just hunky dory.  Usually it results in an adjustment to my meds, or a larger procedure, or admission as an in-patient.  Left heart caths and bronchs are even worse. It’s the anxiety of the unknown that stresses me out.  You can see why if I’m to see a doctor for a procedure, I’d prefer it to be the dentist.  That right there is a sad statement indeed.

dr de soto

All this talk about the dentist reminds me of the book Doctor De Soto by William Steig.  It’s such a great book. It’s worth a trip to the library if you haven’t already read it aloud with your kid.

I’m often asked for picture book recommendations.. I should make a list!

 

