Tags

, , , , ,

I was looking for ‘how to play Settlers of Catan for dummies’ instructions (long story, don’t ask) when I came across a “how to” video on book binding.  Inspired to make little books, I decided to buy a paper cutter.

I had a 30% off coupon for Office Depot so I went online and chose a suitable paper cutter.  The coupon, however, was an in-store purchase only.  It was also drizzling outside, and to top it all off,  it was the last day the coupon was valid. I asked my aunt, who is visiting from NY,  if she would go and buy it for me. Armed with directions and a printed transit map, she went downtown.

While she was there she noticed a pretty patio garden area that lead into a restaurant.  On the sides of the entrance were 2 shadow figures. My aunt recognized one of the figures but couldn’t place where she had seen it before.

It turns out that the restaurant is called Ducca, which means duke in Italian.  It’s located in a part of The Westin Hotel’s lobby and serves Northern Italian food.  With a bit of searching I found out that the 2 shadow figures are of the Duke and Duchess of Urbino.  Piero della Francesca painted a diptych of them during the Italian Renaissance.

Diptych: a picture or series of pictures (as an altarpiece) painted or carved on two hinged tablets, or: a work made up of two matching parts ~Merriam-Webster

The painting Portraits of the Duke and Duchess of Urbino, Federico da Montefeltro and Battista Sforza is housed at the Galleria degli Uffizi in Florence. I’m sure I saw this when I was there with my sister, but I don’t remember a thing about it or the other paintings for that matter.  It’s shameful, I know.

Kahn Academy is a great resource for learning about art history.  I wish this was around when I was taking art history!

A Conversation with Dr. Beth Harris & Dr. Steve Zucker

